Naked I came. Swaddled I live.

DSC_1982-Noah4

 

Our little Noah has grown so much. I took this picture three weeks ago on Oct. 8th when Noah was just about 15 weeks old.  I had for awhile had this picture of Noah in my mind and wanted to try and capture it. He tickled his mommy’s fancy by being still enough for two quick pics in the position I wanted him in and the real icing on the cake was that he looked straight at the camera for me!! Thank you Noah! I was excited he wasn’t too squeamish or making funny baby faces… instead he gave me that oh so typical “mouth open” daze with the little juicy lip hanging open that I’m so often wiping drool from these days.

 

swaddled

 

It wasn’t too long ago that Natalie told me it’s time to buy them (our kids) new slippers.

Well, this morning is a slipper morning.

Stepping outside to see my dear husband off, I felt the chill in the air and the concrete underfoot!

Yes,  even though our first cool days of Autumn in Florida are a tease it is becoming that time of year again.

Time for swaddling…   lots of swaddling…

Our home charms us with it’s age, but with the old windows that need replacing, raised hard wood floors, plaster walls, etc,

some draftiness unfortunately comes with the charm.

How we love to cuddle up together, wrapping ourselves in cozy blankets. What sweet insulation.

But I want more…  More insulation… a precious insulation.

I want to be swaddled in truth, in belief, and in the presence and love of my Savior…

These sweet pictures of Noah had me thinking…

Naked we came in our mother’s womb, naked we shall return – but in the meantime –

we get swaddled.

I love that thought…  I love that reality!

God almighty swaddles His children (abides and surrounds them in His presence)

and their rest in Him is precious!

Exodus 33:12-14

It’s not always easy to find rest in this fast world.

What God calls rest is so different than what the world calls rest.

I am not talking about a vacation. I’m not talking about a nap.

I’m talking about the rest that is God reigning as Lord in my life, and everything else becoming a shadow…

similar to what I feel when my husband lovingly holds me after a long day.

A rest that is not the absence of problems, but the assurance that God is in control despite what I face….

The absence of fear and anxiety in the midst of life’s tumults….

And so I think on how I am to abide  in God’s presence….

as a learner,  as a student, not dictating how I am going to have rest…

but knowing that Jesus defines rest.

Understanding that His rest involves exchange of burdens and yokes…

Matthew 11: 28-30

Giving him all my burdens and yokes and taking on His. Coming to him and gaining rest for my soul.

He says His yoke is easy and His burden is light.

Do I take Him for His word?

Do I pick up my cross and follow Him?

Am I abiding IN Him?

Naked I came,  swaddled I live.

 

 

One Comment to “Naked I came. Swaddled I live.”

  1. That photo is phenomenal and soooo adorable, Tammy! Maybe “4th time’s the charm” for photography! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

